I have to admit, I’m really tired today. I’ve been at work or at school for speech practices all week and haven’t gotten enough sleep. On days like this, when I don’t have much to do at work and I’m fighting to stay awake, I like to perk myself up by thinking about things that I love at that moment. I know it’s cheesy, but you’d be surprised at how well it works! Possibly due to the fact that it causes (and allows for) persistent daydreaming.

1) Otters. Like you didn’t know this about me already.


Video: http://dsc.discovery.com/videos/planet-earth-otters.html

2) Getting adjusted at the chiropractor’s office.


My out-of-place neck is often the cause of headaches for me, so getting it readjusted and applying ice packs feels heaven-sent.

3) Lakeville North High School Speech kids.

I’m sure the kids from other teams are wonderful, too, but the kids at LNHS are some of the most dedicated, hardworking, and genuinely friendly people out there. I love working with them!! Here’s an example of a 2009 Nationals duo piece performed by Lakeville North speech kids. Tell me you’re not amazed at the performance of these two! http://vimeo.com/8521042

4) Three-day weekends.

You can bet your buttered biscuit butt that I’m sleeping in! This weekend will be my first real three-day weekend in probably over a year, excepting vacations/trips to Winona. Needless to say, I’m excited.

5) Vanilla lattés.


Surprisingly, vanilla lattés are not my favorite drink. They’re not even my favorite coffee drink, but for some reason, I’ve been craving one for about a week. I think I’ll splurge tomorrow when I have to get up early for a speech training.

What five things do you love today?

