Kate and Nick came up with this great idea to blog truths about yourself. It takes a surprisingly long-ish amount of time to think about such things, but I’ll try to do it on a semi-regular basis.

1) I love dark, dangerous-sounding music. Trip-hop, ambient, whatever you want to call it, this music keeps me sane.  Massive Attack, Blue Foundation, and especially Portishead (which admittedly I’m not always in the mood to listen to) are absolute favorite musicians of mine. Antimatter is a newfound favorite of mine. I like a variety of music, don’t get me wrong. In fact, I have everything from classical to Adele to Disturbed to Miley Cyrus on my iPod. I have a strong love for female singers such as Ani D., Garbage, KidneyThieves, and Fiona. But there’s just nothing like a dark piece of mood music.

2) I couldn’t live without my calendar. I’m relatively type-A and love organization, so I guess that’s part of the reason. But I also have a tendency to overbook myself way too much, so I never know what’s going on without the aid of my calendar. If I schedule something, whether that be a lunch, a speech practice, or even just a reminder to go to the gym because I actually have time, I write it on the calendar. I buy a calendar for the upcoming year in mid-November or so. It’s kind of ridiculous.

3) I volunteer with a teen services clinic called West Suburban Teen Clinic (WSTC). I love this clinic. They offer repro health care and mental health services to teens and young adults. They provide community education. They go into schools and talk about a variety of issues that plague teens. They’re amazing. I do social media for them, so check out them out on Facebook or Twitter!

4) I love traveling, but the rare times I get to go anywhere, I end up in the San Francisco bay area. Perhaps it’s because I lived in that area for seven months, perhaps because I plan to move back, perhaps because I know people so I get to see them (plus it’s cheaper!). All I know is that three of my last four vacations have been to California. I have a never-ending list of places I want to go, but that’s where I end up! Maybe when I move back, I’ll actually go elsewhere.

5) I have life to-do lists. I have a list of things to do before I die. I just finished a 101 Things to Do in 1,001 Days list, an idea which you should check out if you’ve never heard it. I love setting goals and then achieving them. It pushes me to do something, even if it’s as little as “ride a mechanical bull.” Plus I get the miniature high of crossing it off the to-do list when it’s complete!

More to come, but feel free to share some of your own truths!

