Ever have those times in your life where time seems to just stand still? Time just doesn’t seem like a consistent idea to me – one minute, it’s flying by (generally when I’m having fun) and the next, every second is painfully long (generally when I’m dreading something). Here are a few times life has ticked by ever so slowly for me:

1.The seconds after my grandma died – Not to start out on a dark note, but it’s the truth. I was in the room when my grandmother died (my whole family was). As you may recall from my secrets post last week, my grandmother was one of the most important people in my life. She was my best friend. When she died, I remember thinking over and over in my head for at least a minute (probably 5 seconds in actuality) something like, “You can’t die. You can do this. Come back.” Moving on after that cheery note…

2. Waiting for pregnancy test results – Let me immediately avert the fears of any parental figures reading this – I am very, very safe when it comes to birth control. I’ve never had real reason to think that I was pregnant. I have had, however, a few health issues (UTI, stomach pain of unknown origins) for which doctors decided I should get tested, just in case. Longest. 20. Minutes. Ever. I knew I wasn’t pregnant and it was the longest 20 minutes ever. Yikes. I’d hate to take that test when actually worried about being preggers.

3. Running – After the dramatic nature of the first two, this seems mundane, but I hate running. Hate it. I suck at aerobic activity and I really need to work on it. I warm up every workout by walking, then running, for a total of 5 minutes. Every second drips by when I’m running. I’ll keep my stride, but it sucks.

4. Traffic when running late – I deal with this a lot of mornings. I only live about 5-10 minutes from work, but with traffic, it can easily take 20 minutes. Usually I handle it fine, but occasionally you get those days when you’re running really late. It’s those times when you scream at other drivers for making stupid mistakes, flip off really rude drivers, and do all those other things that we all do but judge other people for doing. Oh, traffic.

5. Waiting for the results of a major life change (i.e., grad school, job offer) – The worst part about this? The waiting game doesn’t just take a few minutes, it can take weeks or months. For example, I applied to grad school in October. I find out in March. I only applied to one school. Their decision affects almost every area of my life because I’d be moving cross-country. It also affects my boyfriend’s plans for the future. Waiting for something this exciting, this monumental, is painful. But it makes the result that much bigger.

When has time stood still for you, good or bad?

