This week, I tried out two new recipes, both of which turned out and I wanted to share. First, I made spinach lasagna béchamel last Thursday to bring to my boyfriend’s house for the weekend to save on dining costs. I love lasagna, but I’m trying to eat healthier and I had heard that this lasagna was a healthier alternative to traditional lasagna, so I thought I would give it a try.


Photo: PhamFatale

I’ll be honest. I thought I butchered this recipe. I did a few substitutions, which seemed like a bad idea once I was in the construction part of the recipe. First, you have to make the béchamel sauce, which combines six cups of milk with two sticks of butter (uh, healthy? really?) and flour – which makes a paste that you have to stir constantly. My hand was killing me by the time I was done! I also substituted cottage cheese for ricotta (I don’t like the texture of ricotta), which surprisingly worked well. Lastly, I didn’t have fresh parsley, so I had to estimate the proper amount of dried parsley. Somehow it all worked out – it ended up tasting just fine! It is definitely not a healthy alternative, however – I used 16 oz. of cottage cheese and two and a half bags of mozzarella cheese. The best part about making this – using regular lasagna noodles without boiling them first. Brilliant! I would make it again, but definitely prefer my traditional lasagna. Overall score: B-

I also made Chipotle’s Cilantro Lime Rice, which was AMAZING!

I was very excited to try out this recipe: Sesame chicken stirfry.


Photo: BBCGoodFood

I love sesame. Like, LOVE. So you can understand my excitement in trying this recipe out. Let me just say – this is somewhat difficult to manage if you don’t own a wok. Unfortunately, I didn’t even have a nonstick pan to use, so I was stuck using a “stick” pan because it was the largest I had. The hardest part was cooking the pieces of chicken – you had to coat them in a batter and fry them, but they kept getting stuck to the pan. I liked this recipe enough, however, that I will likely buy a wok to use in the future so I can continue to make this without sticking fuss. I also played with this recipe a bit. I don’t care for snow peas, so I added broccoli, green beans, mushrooms, and onions instead. I also used a traditional stirfry sauce with some sesame oil since I couldn’t find a sesame stirfry sauce. Paired with brown rice – it was delicious! Overall score: A- (for the difficulty in prep)

Any great recipes that you have under your belt?

