I like making lists of goals. Writing down my goals helps me accomplish them because it forces me to not only think about them, but acknowledge why I want to accomplish each one. I would love to have help and/or reinforcement on these, so let me know if you’re interested in tag-teaming on some of your goals. Here are a few that I want to focus on over the next few months:

1. Make a new recipe at least every two weeks – I enjoy cooking when I have free time, and I really like trying out new recipes. That’s actually the reason that I started doing Foodie Friday posts – I want to share the recipes that I like and detail my successes and disasters along the way.

2. Put money into savings – This is always a goal of mine, but it is particularly pertinent right now as I’m about to pay off my car. I really want to build up my savings account, especially since I plan on moving sometime in the next year. I should set a certain amount to transfer each pay period, but I’m afraid that it’ll all go badly. I will save money.

3. Become more fashionable – As my wonderful friend, Kate, has been working on updating her wardrobe, she’s been showing me various outfits for feedback, which in turn has gotten me more interested in updating my own wardrobe. In fact, Kate has linked to some amazing fashion blogs (such as Work With What You’ve Got), which I highly recommend. I’m not big on fashion, but I really want to work on cultivating a style for myself. This will help once I have more money to spare, but hopefully I can add pieces slowly. Besides, I always need more shoes. 😉

4. Lose weight – I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I’m overweight, but I really want to work to address that. I refuse to do any crazy diets, but I am currently finding ways to eat healthier and make smarter choices in terms of eating – for example, pairing a protein (i.e., peanut butter) with a carb (i.e., whole wheat bread) as a snack will help reduce hunger and cravings. I really hope to lose weight this year and make healthy living a regular part of my lifestyle. Anyone want to take on that challenge with me to hold us both accountable?

5. Take more pictures – I recently got a camera for Christmas, which was great because I’ve been without a camera for over a year. I got so used to not having a camera, however, that I forget that I have one now! I really want to get into the habit of taking pictures and creating images that help retain memories. Now I just need to get a memory card.

6. Prepare for moving – This is perhaps the trickiest of my goals, only because I might be moving this August or I might be moving next year; I might be moving to California or Winona or staying put. I just don’t know. What I do know is that I want to prepare for it so I’m getting the best bang for my buck in terms of getting rid of stuff I don’t need. My boyfriend and I are planning for a mid-summer garage/moving sale to get rid of items such as couches, dressers, etc., as well as smaller items that just aren’t necessary. I imagine we’ll do a certain amount of online selling. Who knows – maybe I’ll even do a monthly giveaway of some of the best stuff!

What goals do you have? How are you planning to accomplish them?

