Thanks to the ever-fresh posts of Kate, I found a group blog post to contribute to (read Kate’s FBFF here and others here). This week, the questions are all about beauty products. As a Mary Kay rep. and long-time makeup fan, I know a thing or two about beauty products. 🙂

1. What’s your favorite drug store makeup product and your favorite higher-end product? I’ll be honest – I almost never buy drugstore makeup anymore. I used to shop there exclusively because it’s cheaper, but I’ve found some pretty fantastic higher-end makeup – plus if I get it through Mary Kay, I often get it at a discounted price! I do live by Burt’s Bees Lip Balm, though – it’s petrolatum-free. On the higher end of makeup, my favorite product is my Victoria’s Secret mascara. At $12.00 a tube, replaced every 3-6 months, I better damn well like it. I’ve tried other high-end mascaras, but nothing seems to accentuate my lashes as well.

2. Is there one type of product that is your go-to, can’t live without? Unless I foresee mass amounts of crying during the day, I always wear mascara. I also almost always wear some kind of cover-up, whether that be foundation (standard) or powder foundation (occasional).

3. What’s the best hair product you’ve ever used? I love testing out different shampoos/conditioners. My biggest challenge with hair products is that my hair soaks up every bit of moisture that it can get, so I use up fancy (read: expensive) shampoos/conditioners quickly. Right now, my scalp is quite dry, so I’ve become a huge fan of Giovanni’s Tea Tree Triple Treat Shampoo. Smells great, too! 

4. Fess up, what’s the worst beauty look you’ve tried to rock and look back at now with a little shame or apprehension that you actually did that? I’ve tried out a few different things that didn’t work out incredibly well, but I would say the worst I’ve done was when I dyed my hair black for a Halloween costume. I have fair, rosy skin and black does NOT go well with my skin tone. See?

I look like Edward Scissorhands. That was not my costume.

Although I used a semi-permanent dye, because I had already dyed my hair in the past, it wouldn’t come out.  I eventually had to go to a salon where the brilliant stylist stripped the black out of sections and dyed those sections dark brown to help me transition back to a better color. That actually looked lovely!

Yay for smart colorists!

5. When it comes to beauty products, we all use the same basic products. What do you use that helps show off your personal flare and personality? If I’m getting dressed up to go out, I like to style up my eyes. My eyes are one of my best features, so I like to make those really stand out – hence the importance of mascara. 🙂

What are your must-have beauty products?

