This week, I decided to try making Pappardelle with Squash, Mushrooms, and Spinach, mainly because I had most of the ingredients on hand and it looked fairly simple. It was fairly simple to make and was rather tasty!


Per usual, I had some substitutions – I had a lot of linguine on hand, so I decided to use that instead of pappardelle or fettuccine pasta as the recipe calls, and I realized that I had almost no mushrooms when the time came to add them. I had no sage, so I used a little parsley instead. Lastly, I didn’t feel like buying parmesan as I rarely use it, so I used mozzarella instead. The substitutions didn’t seem to make a big difference – it tasted great!

I started by getting the noodles cooking on the stove so I could focus on cutting up the squash and sauteing it in butter. The squash needs to cook thoroughly by the time the recipe is done, so it might even be a good idea to prep the squash ahead of time so the noodles don’t have to sit for long. Next, I added the few mushrooms I had, and later the spinach as that cooks very quickly. As soon as the spinach was cooked, I added the pasta and a little cheese, tossed, and voilà! Pappardelle (linguine) with squash, mushrooms, and spinach. Overall score: B+

I also made Mama’s Macaroni and Cheese last night, which was not as amazing as I’d hoped, but decent.

Do you like squash? If so, what’s your favorite recipe?

