I’ve written so many blogs lately with TV shows that I felt like I’ve been neglecting my love of books! Therefore, in no order – because that would be impossible – here are my 10 absolute favorite fiction books (nonfiction will be coming):

1. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – I saw the movie about a year ago and enjoyed it, and I had heard very good things about this book, so I figured I should read it. Oh. My. Goodness. I absolutely down-to-my-soul loved this book.  I cried for about half an hour (even though I knew the ending) and the book stayed with me for a full day. That rarely happens, even with amazing literature. So good. So, so good.

2. The Virgin Suicides by Geoffrey Eugenides – You might not have heard of this book, although you may have heard of another great Eugenides book, Middlesex. I prefer this one, however, due to its unique story and darkness. It’s a beautifully written, bold novel. I definitely recommend it.

3. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – Who doesn’t love this series? I even mostly like the movies – well, the later ones, anyway. Between the characters, the plot, the incredible ending – this series was automatically on my list.

4. The Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer – Don’t judge me – I love these books. No, I do not like the movies. Seriously, these books have a beautiful love story. They hook me every time. I was a skeptic at first, too, but decided to give them a try and I’m very glad I did. Oh, and I’m a Jacob fan, in case you were wondering. 🙂

5. Any book written by David Sedaris – This man is my creative nonfiction idol (creative is the reason it’s on this list). He is hilarious. I met him at a book signing at the University of Minnesota and he mocked me for coming alone and I still adore him. You may think that you don’t like short stories, but you will after you read his stories. Love.

6. Like the Red Panda by Andrea Seigel – I have no idea where or how I heard of this book, but I love it. It’s another darker book and reminds me a bit of The Bell Jar, only a more modern version. I also really love the ending – it’s completely atypical of most books. I wasn’t as impressed with Seigel’s second book, but I’m hoping her third will be better.

7. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – This has been one of my very favorite books since I was a little kid. It started because they talk about “tesseracts” in the book and I went to Tesseract School for preschool. I love the story, I love the characters, I love all of it. I don’t care that I can read it in less than an hour. It’s stuck with me all these years.

8. The Millenium trilogy by Stieg Larsson – I was a very brief member of a younger female book club crowd (like, two months), but they went over the first book of this series (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) and I couldn’t put it down. I actually skipped the monthly meeting to finish reading it because I was so into it. I love this story. It’s not my usual favorite style of books (a little crime/journalistic), but I love the characters as they’re unique and perfectly delineated. I would definitely recommend the entire series.

9. Prozac Nation by Elizabeth Wurtzel – Technically this is an autobiographical story, but being a writer of creative nonfiction myself, I feel like it fits better in the fiction post. If you couldn’t tell that I love dark, heavy literature by now, I think this book would clear that up for you. Wurtzel shares her story of debilitating depression and her journey of antidepressants. It’s a beautifully written and shockingly honest book. I highly recommend it – unless you’re depressed, in which case, I actually wouldn’t.

10. The Sneetches by Dr. Seuss – I love Dr. Seuss. The man is a hero of mine. The Sneetches is my very favorite Dr. Seuss story. It talks about diversity and hatred, and shows us that we’re all the same at the end of the day. I want a Sneetch onesie. Seriously, how awesome would that be??

Honorable mentions: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Quake (play) by Melanie Marnich, Seascape with Sharks and Dancer (play) by Don Nigro, anything written by Eve Ensler (which draws on true stories/events)

What are your favorite books?

