I was reviewing Kate’s Currents on the blog of the ever lovely Kate and began thinking about my own currents. That’s the thing about blogs – they inspire other people to write! Here are some of my currents:

Books I’m reading or about to start reading:

  • The Chemistry of Calm: I’m a huge subscriber to the ideas in Dr. Emmons’ first book, The Chemistry of Joy. This book is his second and talks about natural, drug-free ways to reduce anxiety and instill calm into your life. I haven’t gotten past the first chapter yet, but I’m looking forward to reading more of his ideas.
  • Made to Stick: I’m currently reading this book for a book review blog at my work. I started reading the Heath brothers’ latest book, Switch: How to Change When Change is Hard, and really enjoyed it but didn’t finish it (a woe that often occurs with me and nonfiction – ironically, this whole list is nonfiction). Made to Stick discusses why certain ideas stick and what we can do to make our ideas “stickier.” It’s a great read so far – again, only a couple of chapters in – and hopefully will give me some ideas of my own.

A good read so far!

Blogs I’m loving:

  • Divergent Musings: As you know, I often steal ideas or link out to my dear friend, Kate, but it’s only because she has fantastic posts! Kate is the person who got me interested in blogging again, and it’s only because of her that I now blog so frequently. Her posts often inspire posts of my own. Kate’s blog is actually the only blog I read on a regular basis. I definitely recommend checking out her site!
  • Blog Giveaways: This is the site that I post my monthly giveaways on (thanks to Kate). If you have any kind of a giveaway on your blog (sponsored or self-funded), simply shoot the blog owner an email and she will post a link to your contest. The blog has over 1,500 followers, and that doesn’t include the readers who don’t subscribe. It’s a great way to announce your giveaway and (hopefully) get more readers for your own blog!
  • Cake Wrecks – My colleague introduced me to this blog when she sent me a link to Dr. Seuss cakes (who could resist that?) and I immediately loved the humor and sass of this blog. Send me something sarcastic, I’ll probably like it. The blogger somehow manages to routinely find pictures of horrifying cakes for every occasion. Good times.

I want a wedding just to be able to have this cake.

  • Sex and the Fat Girl – I don’t remember to read this often, but there is terrific commentary on here about fat acceptance and sex. It’s a great blog for anybody who’s bigger in size and feels self-conscious about weight. It’s good for skinny people, too, to truly understand about different people and individuality. I highly recommend it.

What I’m watching:

  • Boogie Nights – My boyfriend and I haven’t seen this movie, but we both love Mark Wahlberg, so we decided it is high time that we watch this movie. He has it on Netflix – we just haven’t had the chance to sit down and watch it. It’ll be our movie night movie.
  • Criminal Minds – Although my boyfriend is in town, I’ll probably still end up watching this tonight since he’s going to be hanging out with friends. This is my second favorite crime show (Castle is tops) – I love the psychological aspect of it.
  • Angel – I’m slowly streaming season 4 of Angel on Netflix. I probably won’t get around to watching any this week, but as things start to slow down, I should have more time available to catch up on this.
  • Buffy – As soon as I finish season 4 of Angel, I’m planning to finally finish season 7 (final season) of Buffy. I can’t wait!

This is a sad statement.

Things I’m looking forward to:

  • Sleeping in on Sunday – I coach Speech at a high school and we’re nearing the end of our season, which means I spend about 15 hours a week coaching or judging at tournaments in addition to the 40 hours I work for my full time job. Which means I don’t sleep enough. Sundays are my only day off for another two weeks, so I fully intend on taking advantage of sleeping in on Sunday.
  • Eating 2 lbs. of strawberries – I bought 2 lbs of strawberries last night at Sam’s Club and intend to eat the entire container by tomorrow night. Strawberries are one of my favorite foods and needless to say, they don’t last long around me.

Don't judge me.

  • Movie night with my boyfriend – My boyfriend lives two hours away from me, but he’s on spring break and staying with me for the week, which makes me really happy. Sometime this week we’re going to have a movie night and veg out with snacks and relaxation. Sounds ideal.
  • Finding out the amount of my Secret Rewards card from Victoria’s Secret – I recently replaced my old mascara and got a Secret Rewards card. In April, I go back to VS and find out if I received a coupon for $10, $50, $100, or $500 dollars off my next purchase. No matter what, it’s a good deal, but I can only imagine the shopping I’d do if I managed to score a $500 card.

What are your current pleasures?

