I can’t lie – I was going to have my boyfriend take numerous awkward pictures of me in my clothes this weekend to prepare for the next couple of Makeover Mayhem posts…but we forgot. 🙂 I really need to learn how to take photos of myself with my new camera, so I guess that gives me reason. For this week, however, I’m going to let the makeover action slide a little – one, because I don’t have time to prep the pictures, and two, because I found this great Friend Friday prompt on body image via Modly Chic that I felt was very apropos.

When I decided to write Makeover Mayhem posts, I did so with the intention that I would get some advice about how to become more fashion-forward. I admit that this is an area where I could use some outside help. Although I am self-conscious, I didn’t start these posts because I hate my body – or love it, for that matter. Eventually I might post about exercise and diet, but even that’s a maybe. I don’t want this to be about my body, but I do want these posts to be about learning to love the way I look. So with no further ado, here are some body image questions/answers!

1. Since you started blogging has your image of yourself changed? Not yet, but I think it will. It honestly was a pretty big step to decide to write Makeover Mayhem posts because I am self-conscious about my specs. But as I said above, I want this theme to be about learning to love the way I look, so hopefully that’s coming! I’ve already gotten some great tips on haircuts, so I’m looking forward to seeing where this theme goes.

2. Are you self-conscious about any aspect of yourself? If so, do you go out of your way to avoid it or do you post it/talk about it anyway? I am, as I mentioned, but I think that posting about it is healthy and a positive way to accept all types of bodies. Avoiding it just leads to shame and self-hate, which is definitely not what I want!

3. Based on how you are feeling now, what do you think the future holds in the evolution of your body image? Whoa…this is kind of an intense question. I’m honestly not sure about where the evolution of my body image is going. On the one hand, I’m excited to get back to the gym – not because I particularly love exercising, but because I like the feeling I get from going. On the other hand, I know that I just have a bigger body type and it’s just going to be difficult to find clothes that fit well and are flattering, etc. Perhaps more balance is in the future.

4. Do you photograph yourself for your blog? If so, how do you feel about the experience when you’re having your picture taken? If you choose not to post pictures of yourself, what prompted that decision? I do photograph myself for these posts, mostly because I think people can provide better commentary and suggestions if they can see what I look like. For example, it’s hard to visualize “huge hips” in a flattering way, but that’s actually a good quality of mine. I do feel awkward in those pictures – everyone does – but it’s worth it.

5. What would you want every person who struggles with body image to take to heart? It’ll likely always be an issue, but try not to listen to the standards of perfection that society throws at us. It’s not fair and it’ll never be fair. But regardless, there is at least one person out there who thinks you’re gorgeous.

Check out the other responses here!

How do you feel about your body image?

