I adore lo mein. That’s actually what started opening up my taste for Asian food. My mom sent me a recipe for chicken lo mein, so I figured I had to try it – if nothing else, it looked healthier than restaurant lo mein. It takes a bit of work to prepare, so I waited until my boyfriend came up for spring break. Overall – not bad!


For the most part, it had good flavor. The garlic and the ginger mixed with the sesame oil provided a nice background flavor that wasn’t overpowering – in fact, we felt that we could have used more garlic. My boyfriend particularly enjoyed mincing the garlic. The biggest issue was that it was quite liquid-heavy, even after letting it cook off for a while. The best thing about this recipe is that you can add any vegetables you want  – we used red pepper, water chestnuts, snap peas, mushrooms, onion, and just a little broccoli (no carrot). Overall score: B (I preferred the Sesame Chicken Stirfry)

What’s your favorite Asian food? Have you ever tried making homemade Asian food?

