In Winona with the boy! Here a list of my (our) currents:

What I’m watching:

  • Criminal MindsI’m officially on season 3! In fact, I get disc 2 of season 3 tonight. I’m getting there. I have to admit, though, it’s weird without Gideon.
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer – I reached a point in Angel where I was ready to switch back to Buffy to finish up the series. So far, it’s been okay…seems a little repetitive, to be honest, but I like the addition of Principal Wood’s character. I’ve been waiting for Faith and Caleb to show up, and apparently they show up in the same episode, which is the next on my list to watch.
  • The Fighter – I love Mark Wahlberg and I’ve been interested in seeing this movie since it got Oscar notice (when I heard about it). Either my boyfriend or myself usually rents a movie from Netflix so we can have a movie night, so this is the one I chose.
  • Hop – Part of the reason I’m down here this weekend as opposed to a different weekend is because my boyfriend and I had a quadruple date with his friends to see Hop yesterday. I got a great deal on movie tickets from LivingSocial, so it was only $9 for two tickets!

What I’m reading:

Some of these haven’t changed since I last updated on this, but I’m slowly working my way through them. I just finished Blink, which I would highly recommend!

  • Yes Means Yes: Visions of Female Sexual Power by Jaclyn Friedman and Jessica Valenti – As a feminist, I love feminist literature. I have an entire shelf on my bookcase devoted to feminist literature, including a book of Bitch essays, Our Bodies, Our Selves, and many Eve Ensler books. That being said, this is one of the best works I’ve ever read. It contains many essays that discuss female sexuality (gasp!) and how our society actually enforces a rape culture in many ways. It also talks about ways we can change that. I highly recommend reading this book, even if you don’t consider yourself a “feminist” (which, by the way, simply means that you believe in equality between sexes).

  • Buddha’s Brain: The practical neuroscience of happiness, love, and wisdom by Rick Hanson – I have heard nothing but glowing reviews for this book. My main goal in life is to be happy, so to work on that, I try to find new ideas about how to achieve happiness. I’m very interested to see what Hanson has to say on the subject.
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – Yes, I’m finally getting around to reading the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy. I’ve been so busy trying to get through the books I have checked out from the library that I haven’t been able to read the ones I’ve borrowed from my awesome head speech coach. Mockingjay (the third book) is also on the list.
  • Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson –Speak is another book I’m borrowing from my head speech coach. I first heard about this book when I saw that it was banned from some schools for being “too explicit” in its rape description. Just from flipping through it, I don’t think it’s too explicit at all. I think young women (and men) need to know what rape is like in the hopes that we can avoid it in the future.

Events I’m attending:

  • West Suburban Teen Clinic’s volunteer appreciation night – I’ve volunteered with this amazing organization for almost a year and I’m very excited to attend the appreciation night with other volunteers! It’s being held at a bowling alley where I used to work (different location, though), so I’ll be familiar with the venue as well. Should be fun!

  • U of MN Career Networking Fair – I’ve been taking on more HR responsibilities at work, which includes attending career fairs on behalf of the company. In mid-April, I’m attending another career fair hosted by the University of Minnesota (I attended one in February). Hopefully it’ll be useful.
  • Speech sections – Although the regular season of speech has ended, we still have work to do to prepare for sections and state. 39 kids from our team (including two of my kids!) qualified for sections coming up this Thursday – I can’t wait to see who moves on to state.
  • Dinner with my mom and aunt – This isn’t really an event, per se, but it’s an important night for my family. Ever since my grandmother died in 2009, we’ve had (mostly) monthly dinners. This Wednesday is my grandmother’s birthday, so we’re having our monthly dinner that night. I haven’t decided how to honor that yet.

Things I’m looking forward to:

  • Spending time with my boyfriend this weekend – I LOVE going to visit my boyfriend. He doesn’t like where he lives, partly because we’re apart, but I love visiting. Obviously, I love getting to spend time with my boyfriend, but I think part of the reason is also because it’s a mini vacation for me. I sleep later and fall asleep easier, we veg out in front of movies, we bike around – it’s wonderful.
  • Getting back to the gym – I used to hate the gym. I still somewhat dread going to the gym. But I really miss the feeling of working out and feeling like I’m not entirely lazy. I put my account on a freeze for this month when I realized that I wasn’t going to have any spare time to go because of work and speech. My account starts back up in April and I can’t wait! In fact, I’m going to make my boyfriend take me to his gym this weekend so I can get started.
  • Biking around town – One of my very favorite things to do in Winona is bike around town. Winona has some great trails around man-made lakes, but my boyfriend and I also like to bike into the town and ride around. We’ve even biked a couple of miles down to the edge of town on the highway. Who knows what we’ll do this time (depends on the weather), but I can’t wait to get my bike back!

  • Thrift store shopping – My friend and I love shopping, but we’re both broke, so we’re going to take a day and go thrifting. I found a few shops up in Richfield that I want to try out – I’ll let you know how that goes!

What are some of your current happenings?

