I decided to steal the lovely Kate’s theme from last week and do this week on rituals. Well, I was going to, and then it kind of snowballed into routines, which is quite similar, right? …right? Well, I suppose this is my routines/rituals post, then.

1. My morning routine – When I get ready for the day, I have the same routine. I might not do the routine immediately if it’s a day off, but if I leave the house, chances are that I’ll be getting ready at some point. If it’s a work day, I do it immediately, so let’s presume it’s a work day: After I turn off my alarm, the first thing I do is love on the kitty (kitty likes to wake up at 6 a.m., but she doesn’t get love until 6:45 a.m. when I wake up). Then I get dressed, go to the bathroom, and feed kitty in random order. Then the real routine starts. I – in this order – brush my hair, brush my teeth, wash my face, pop my birth control pill, get rid of remaining eye makeup that has decorated my undereyes overnight, put on face lotion, put on deodorant, spray perfume, put on makeup, and put on jewelry. Even my makeup has its own order, although this is more for long-lasting hold: Foundation, eye primer (if used), blush, highlighting shadow, eyeshadows, eyeliner, loose powder, mascara, chapstick, lipstick. It’s a routine.

I haven't tried that yet.

2. My get-into-work routine – I have another morning routine – when I get to work, I have a fairly consistent routine. I’m always always the first person in, so I unlock the door, turn on the light, and lock the door behind me (policy). I put my stuff down, take off my coat, turn on my computer, and take my lunch into the back. I put my lunch away, start brewing coffee, and prep my cup with cream. I come back out to my desk, get settled in, and at some point go get my coffee. Occasionally I’ll run out of time at home, so I’ll bring breakfast in. It’s a fairly basic routine that I imagine most people do.

3. Eat food one at a time – Again, I’ve heard of many people eating this way. When I eat a main meal with a few different foods on my plate, I tend to eat one food at a time. As in I’ll eat broccolibroccolbroccoli chickenchickenchickenchicken rice chicken ricericericericerice. I don’t do it intentionally. It’s probably part of the reason that I finish my food so quickly. I also don’t usually think about my food while I’m eating it, which is something I should probably work on. Also, I don’t always eat in this order. I think I’ll get better about eating more intentionally.

I would mix my food, but this would happen and I wouldn't be able to eat at all.

4. My exercise routine – Granted, I haven’t been able to go to the gym for pretty much three months (speech sucked up all of my free time so I froze my account), but I get to start going again! I’m thinking Wednesday. And when I get there, I will warm up for five minutes with a walk/jog on the treadmill, then stretch, then do weight lifting starting with arms, then abs, then legs, then do a cardio. I’m also hoping to up my cardio workouts so that I’ll really exhausting myself. It shouldn’t be too hard – I went for a (at least) 10 mile bike ride with my boyfriend yesterday and I was incredibly exhausted. Out of shape!

5. Listen to a new song or CD again and again until I get sick of it – I don’t listen to the radio. When I’m in the car, I’m always playing music, but I use my iPod, or when that dies, I suffer with a CD that I’m not really into. When I discover new music, therefore, I tend to go a little crazy on it. As in, I listen to a song or favorite new songs on a new CD over and over and over again. Until I get sick of it. In fact, I reach a point when I know that I’m going to get sick of the song soon so I probably should stop listening to it, but I still don’t. I’m just not in the mood to listen to anything else.

I've always loved this picture.

I was going to add the ritual of going to Perkins for french toast with my boyfriend when I visit him, but we actually didn’t do this last weekend. Financial constraints are slowly making that one disappear. *tear*

What are your rituals?

