Ever have those weird smells that you love? The ones where other people look at you like you’re crazy when you mention that you like them? Today, I’m going to list some of my favorites. Some of these smells probably aren’t even weird to you – you may even enjoy them, too! Regardless, I love these smells:

1. Fresh cut grass – This is probably the most common “weird” smell that people like. In fact, who doesn’t like the smell of fresh cut grass? It’s like an automatic reminder of gorgeous weather (usually). Even the grass flavor of Bertie Botts Every Flavor Harry Potter jelly beans tastes good! As well it should, since grass smells so damn good. Environmentally related, I also love the smell before/during/after it rains. I love rain.

I also love how vibrant grass looks.

2. Gasoline – I’m surprised by how many people also like the smell of gasoline. Now I’m not saying that I get out of my car at gas stations and take a deep breath of fumes – I just don’t avoid the smell. I don’t know why I like the smell of gasoline. There are a few similar smells that I don’t hate, such as sulfur. I don’t love them, but I certainly don’t hate them, either. Anyone in this boat with me?

Not a fan of gas prices, though.

3. New books – To be fair, I think this has more to do with enjoying new books than it does for the specific smell of new books, but regardless, I like that smell. The smell of new books immediately makes me think of opening a brand new book – with all of the anticipation that a new book brings – and settling down for a good read. Strangely, I don’t care much for the smell of old books. I’m not sure why – it just doesn’t bring the same tingle of anticipation as new books do.

How I love thee, books.

4. The ocean – More specifically, salt water air. I think this stems more from my deep love of the ocean (and northern California) than it does for my love of salt water. Whenever I visit, when I step out of the airport – and get away from the car fumes – I immediately take in a deep breath of salty ocean air. Even in South San Francisco (inland from the ocean, but bordering the San Francisco Bay), the ocean air is distinct. It immediately reminds me of where I am – and it’s the perfect start to my time in California.

*sniff*sniff* Ahhh...

5. Pools – Speaking of water, the smell of the pool with its chlorinated water has to be on my list. I’m not sure why. When I think of the pool, I think of kids, tanners, and general disarray. But despite all that, I love the pool. I love swimming, even if I’m not that good at it and feel awkward in a bathing suit. I also prefer feeling clean, and despite the peeing in the pool issue, I feel like pools are cleaner than lakes or rivers. I just love water in general. Let’s chalk it up to that.

I want this pool. Seriously.

What weird smells do you like?

