If you recall, last week I posted that I’m grateful for banana cake with cream cheese frosting. I had to make a dessert for a family dinner last week, and what better dessert to bring than banana cake (recipe)?

YUM.

I will admit, dealing with overripe bananas is downright disgusting. I prefer greener bananas that haven’t gone too sweet, so if a banana has a brown spot on it, it’s too ripe for me. So cutting the skin off a melting banana? Yuck! That being said, this cake was totally worth the initial melting banana revulsion. I also used my roommate’s KitchenAid mixer for the first time and now MUST OWN ONE. This cake was incredibly easy to make and smelled amazing after it came out of the oven. My only qualm throughout the entire process? “1 box of powdered sugar” is not helpful when powdered sugar generally comes in bags, not boxes. That wasn’t a big deal, however, because that allowed my boyfriend and I to taste-test the frosting until we got to the right combination. Overall score: A+

