Sally from Already Pretty linked out to this recently and I really liked the positive self-image prompts posed here. I decided to not only complete the prompts, but to share them so that you could all benefit from answering these prompts as well! Check out Margarita Tartakovshy’s original blog post for others.

  • I am beautiful because…every woman is beautiful in her own way. Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder, but if you believe you’re beautiful, it can’t help but show through you and make you beautiful to others.
  • I am strong because…strength is not reflected only in the physical form, but also mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.
  • My favorite physical activity is…swimming! I absolutely love the water, and while I rarely actually get around to swimming, I love doing it when I can. A fair warning, though – do not attempt to learn to swim on a swim team.
  • I nourish my body because…I can. It took me a while to know how to answer this question, mainly because I think of nourish in a healthy way, and I honestly am not good at that. But I am good at splurging on unhealthy food. I’m very good at that. And I often do it because I feel like it’s unfair that I should have to basically be anorexic in order to be the size of one of my friends, who is not a stick. I would never be a stick. It’s just not my body.
  • My loved ones make me feel great about my body when…they compliment me. 🙂 I think compliments are underrated. It’s obvious when they’re insincere, but when they’re not, they’re a great confidence booster! I also really like when my boy touches me (stop thinking dirty) anywhere, like stroking my face. He’s always really gentle and it makes me feel loved.
  • My loved ones make me feel bad about my body when…they make fun of my eating habits. I know I eat poorly. I really do. But I guilt myself enough, so guilting me even more doesn’t help and isn’t going to make me change my dietary ways.
  • I feel best about myself when…I believe in myself. Wow, did that sound cheesy. But it’s true. When I have confidence in myself, I feel amazing.
  • I feel bad about myself when…I compare my body or my life or my issues to someone else and come up lacking. It’s a bad habit that I really need to break, but I’m sure everyone can attest to how difficult that is. I heard some great advice today that if something makes you feel badly – no matter what – eliminate it. Her example was “if looking at a coworker’s vacation photos makes you feel bad, close the web page. It’s not worth it.” Truth.
  • A truly positive body image means…not only accepting your flaws, but embracing them as well. I’m getting there on acceptance, embracing is next.
  • I love being me because…I survive. No matter what happens or how much I struggle, I still survive.
  • I wish that I could give myself permission to…not feel guilty!
  • I always feel comfortable in my own skin when…I’m wearing a fun, flirty dress. I’m not sure what it is about dresses. The right sundress can make me feel great about myself. The somewhat ironic thing is that I don’t like my arms and sundresses are often sleeveless. That just pushes the acceptance part just a little further.
  • The lesson I’ve learned about my body image this year is…I can be beautiful no matter what size I am. I still struggle with this, but I recently read an article that has helped me open up to this concept. Body image acceptance, here I come!
  • If I could change one thing about my life it would be…that I wouldn’t have to focus on seeking happiness – that it would just be available. Or would be easier to find, at the very least.
  • My favorite part about spring is…Tulips! Or sprummer! Or nice weather after months and months of crappy weather. No, wait! BABY DUCKIES!!!

I like ducks.

