I love movies. It’s one of my favorite escapes. There are few things better than curling up with a good movie or TV show after a long or grueling day. Yet somehow, I’ve managed to not watch many classic, top-rated movies over the years. In fact, I haven’t seen many of the movies on AFI’s 100 Years…100 Movies, their list of the 100 best movies of the century. For one, I have this thing about black and white movies. I don’t know what it is about them, I just don’t like them. Somehow they don’t keep my interest. I also have a tendency to focus on new movies that I want to see and run out of time to watch classics. Here are the best movies that I’ve never seen – let the excuses begin:

10. A Clockwork Orange – Let’s get this one out of the way right away, shall we? I’ve tried to watch this movie. I still intend to watch it someday. I have never been able to get through the opening scene where DeLarge and his posse rape a woman in front of her husband. It’s too graphic and horrifying for me. I can handle most horror movies just fine, but that blatant view of rape really turns me off. But I do want to get through it. I tried to read the book but I couldn’t get through that either, although that was because it bored me to tears. A little different.

9. 2001: A Space Odyssey – I have to put this on here right away because boyfriend and I are planning to watch this very shortly. Yes, I know it’s a classic. Yes, I know it’s directed by Stanley Kubrick. Blah, blah, blah. I’ve actually been kind of interested in seeing this, but just never got around to it. That’s actually going to be my excuse for most of these movies – I just never got around to it.

8. The Shawshank Redemption – I just never got around to it. Seriously, though, I know it’s supposed to be amazing and I want to see it. I’m not a huge fan of Tim Robbins, but I love Morgan Freeman. Not to mention I LOVE The Green Mile, so I think it’s imperative that I see this film.

7. Star Wars 1, 2, 3…or is it 4, 5, 6? The latest three – I never cared enough to get around to it. I’m not huge on sci-fi movies and never got into the original three, so what was the point of watching the later three? Especially after I heard they weren’t that great. I’ll probably eventually get around to watching them, likely because someone else will want to watch them and I won’t care enough not to.

6. Dr. Strangelove – I don’t actually know much about this movie. The long title is a bit intriguing to me, but once again, we’re looking at a black and white movie here. I just don’t do well with black and white movies. Like Pi. Oh, god, Pi. That movie was so boring that we turned it off. Disappointment, Darren Aronofsky! Such disappointment. Anyway, since this isn’t a list about amazing movies that I couldn’t stand, I haven’t seen Dr. Strangelove.

5. American History X – I actually do really, really want to see this movie. It’s near the top of my Netflix queue, so I definitely will see it soon. I always confuse it with American Graffiti because apparently all movies with “American” in the title are the same movie. I suppose I should add The American to my list. I’ve already seen American Beauty.

4. Sixteen Candles…or is it Pretty in Pink? – What’s the difference? You see one Molly Ringwald movie, you’ve seen them all. Don’t get me wrong, I like Molly Ringwald, but seriously, look at this:

Point made. For the record, I think it was Sixteen Candles.

3. The Piano – I actually really want to see this movie. I’m not sure why I haven’t gotten around to seeing it yet. I mean, it’s gotten Oscars, everyone talks about how amazing it is, people say it makes them cry and I’m a sucker for crying movies. There are all sorts of reasons that I should have seen this by now. And yet it’s not in the top ten of my queue like American History X is. But it’s on there. At number…206. Well, it’ll move up over time. They always do.

2. Psycho – I don’t think I’ve even seen the remake of Psycho, actually. I do want to see this, if only because I’ve heard endless laud and praise about the direction of the movie. It’s black and white, but I have a feeling this one would capture my attention despite that drawback. So yes, I do plan to watch this movie.

1. Citizen Kane – That’s right, I have not seen AFI’s top movie of pretty much ever because nothing will ever compare. This is largely because I heard it was utter crap. Feels insanely long and incredibly boring. Oh, and don’t forget, black and white. Will I get around to it? Eh. Maybe. Probably not. And you know what? I’m really okay with that.

You're going to sit through my movie just because it's a classic!

Stay tuned for more on movies!

