Remember how I said I’d never seen 2001: A Space Odyssey? Well, boyfriend and I watched it last night. We decided it’s one of those movies that’s only good if you talk throughout the entire thing. We had some great dubbed commentary for the 20-minute opening scene with the apes, including, “Step away from the water, bitches.” Those apes sure swear a lot. My favorite part of the movie, however, had to be this part:

As Heywood, Ralph, and Bill take a shuttle to the lunar excavation site, they discuss a speech Heywood made. Along the way, they eat.

Bill: “Anybody hungry?”

Heywood: “Chicken?  Tastes the same anyway.”

Ralph: “Any ham?”

Heywood: “Looks pretty good.  They’re getting better all the time.”

Ralph: “I’m sure it beefed up morale a hell of a lot.”

Cassie: “You mean, it HAMMED up morale a hell of a lot!”

Doug: “I’m glad you amuse yourself.”

Five minutes later, I’ve progressed from laughing to laughing and crying…

Doug: “What the hell is the matter with you?”

Cassie: “I should have said, it ROAST BEEFED up morale!”

Doug: “Oh dear god.”

Best part of the movie.

